Minestra di Piselli

minestradipiselli

 

 

I was surfing around on the interwebz and found this very good looking risi e bisi . First of all I found the name very funny, and after reading about it I also found out that it’s a venetian dish. My boyfriends father is born in venice so I asked him if he had ate it before, he hadn’t! So one rainy evening I decided to make my own risi e bisi. Since I didn’t have any rice at home I used some leftover wheatberries that I had in the fridge.

I wouldn’t call this dish risi e bisi since it don’t contain any rice, and also didn’t have that creamy texture like a risotto should. So I just call it pea soup, minestra di piselli. Next time I have some rice I will give it a try. In the meantime you might just cook this minestra instead cause it’s perfect for a rainy day!

 

Minestra di Piselli (serves 3)

550ml vegetable broth

400ml cooked wheatberries

500ml green peas

1 leek

1 small onion

5 tblsp pasley

1/3 lemon juice + zest

Parmesan cheese (optional)

 

Chop the leek and onion, heat oil to medium heat in a pan. Add your onion and leeks and let it get soft but without getting any color.

Add your peas and cooked wheatberries in to the pan, pour over almost all of the vegetable broth, leave about 100ml for later.

Leave it to cook on medium heat for about 20min. After 20 min add the rest of the broth and also lemon juice and zest, salt and pepper to taste.

Let it cook for about 5-10 minutes more. Take the pan from the heat and add your chopped parsley. If too much of the broth cooked away you can add some more at the end.

Garnish with some grated parmesan cheese and your good to go!

 

Buon appetito!

Leave a comment